Book Journey: I Bought the Monk’s Ferrari

I bought the monk's ferrari

Genre: Self Help
Book Name: I Bought the Monk’s Ferrari
Author: Ravi Subramanian
Pages: 174
Publication Year: 2008
Publisher: Rupa & Co

I have always liked reading books of Ravi Subramanian since the time I randomly bought in Crossword a book by him, If God was a Banker. And the title was just too catchy for me to read it (you all must have heard about Robin Sharma’s bestseller, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari). But that was then. Now, I am on a reading spree to finish all his books. So that was the reason behind me getting hold of the hard copy of I bought the Monk’s Ferrari.

After reading the first few pages, this was my reaction, “Someone should have told me it’s a self-help book. Shit! One book gone waste.” But I am not a quitter, at least not so easily I still finished reading the book. One most bring things to a closure, even if the process drives one nuts.

OK. A brief background about me before I go on harping about the book continuously. I don’t think self-help books ever work for me. So why do I still read it? For the sake of reading the short stories, even though the learning or moral lessons (yes, that’s what I feel after every ‘gyan’ or conclusion drawn after a story) concluded are pretty obvious.

So this book was one among the many, the difference being the things to do were by far simplistic, those which are quite obvious but still reading in black and white makes a better impression on the mind to process and follow. And when you are in a managerial position, you must be doing at least a few by yourself already.

Just this time of writing a blog entry, let me summarize the rules as mentioned by the banker Ravi Subramanian:
1. You need to aspire and when you do, don’t go for anything short of the best
2. Be optimistic 
3. Don’t whine about work-life balance. Be the winner, not the wimp
4. If you are high on integrity, people will respect you and value you
5. Value time, yours as well as others’
6. Nobody’s perfect so upgrade your skills regularly or you will be redundant
7. If you are in the company of successful people, their success will rub off on you. But you need to back it up with stellar performance
8. Share your success with others
9. Work hard, exercise harder, build stamina and keep illness at bay
10. If you’ve followed the above, it’s time to build your profile. Target your audience and talk about your achievements

In the end, to know the conclusion and significance of what all Ferrari stands for, please read the book, but don’t expect too much out of it!

Check my review for the other books of Ravi Subramanian:
The Bankster
The Incredible Banker

About Alka

Trying to just make some sense out of things and put some sense into me!! :) :) :)

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for reading all my books. Actually this is the only self help book I have written… and even though the book did reasonably well, I somehow felt that non-fiction was not my calling. Hope you liked all the other fiction ones. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes. I had liked all the other books of yours. Those are great reads. Also, during my joining induction in a bank that I am currently working, other joinees were quoting facts from your book about compliance in banking industry.
      And thanks Ravi for the reply. I had never imagined the author of any book to reply to any of my post and was so overwhelmed that it took me two months to reply 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Book Journey: The Bankster | Ethereal Jinxed

  2. Pingback: Book Journey: The Incredible Banker | Ethereal Jinxed

Leave a Reply

