Book Review: Artemis Fowl and The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

EtherealJinxed | Book Review | Artemis Fowl and The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

Genre: Fantasy, YA
Book Name: Artemis Fowl and The Last Guardian
(Artemis Fowl, #8)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Pages: 352
Publication Year: 2014
Publisher: Disney Hyperion

When my brother used to read Artemis Fowl, I was never interested since I had once read the book blurb and found it overtly aggressive. However, when I continuously kept on hearing about this book series in book reading communities, I thought of giving this a try and added this in my TBR list. On a recent visit to my parent’s place, I chanced upon Artemis Fowl and The Last Guardian, and even though others dissuaded me to read this since it’s the last book in the series, I couldn’t hold my enthusiasm and finished it in a day’s time.

It is a wonder why Artemis Fowl series is not promoted the way it had been with Harry Potter because it deserves every single credit. While Artemis Fowl was a mere name in TBR couple of days back and I have only read the last book today, I am undoubtedly going to start with the other previously published books of this series. Brilliantly written, with perfect storyline, perfect set of humane characters (ok, apologies on hurting the feelings of pixies, centaurs, gnomes and all others whose names I have missed out -it’s not intentional, I swear), a villain, a hero and lots and lots of magic, what more can one want in a delightful book? Oh my, I am simply gushing over, having just completed the book and not being able to think straight, like drugged with the writings.

All Harry Potter fans out there and even those who are not, be prepared to embark on this wonderful journey. But yes, unlike me, do start from the first book in this series. And keep watching my blog for other books by Eoin Colfer.

Excerpt from the back cover of the book:
It’s Armageddon Time for Artemis Fowl.

Opal Koboi, power-crazed pixie, is plotting to exterminate mankind and become fairy queen.

If she succeeds, the spirits of long-dead fairy warriors will rise from the earth, inhabit the nearest available bodies and wreak mass destruction. But what happens if those nearest bodies include crows, or deer, or badgers – or two curious little boys by the names of Myles and Beckett Fowl?

Yes, it’s true. Criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl’s four-year-old brothers could be involved in destroying the human race. Can Artemis and Captain Holly Short of the Lower Elements Police stop Opal and prevent the end of the world

About the author:
Eoin Colfer is the New York Times best-selling author of the Artemis Fowl series, Airman, Half Moon Investigations, The Supernaturalist, Eoin Colfer’s Legend of… books, The Wish List, Benny and Omar; and Benny and Babe. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

Website: eoincolfer.com
Twitter: @eoincolfer
Facebook: @EoinColferOfficial

Rating: 10/10
About Alka

Trying to just make some sense out of things and put some sense into me!! :) :) :)

Posted on March 26, 2017, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

